Wholemeal Naan Bread

Monday night is always a bit hectic for us, dashing around for swimming etc. I usually try to prepare our dinner before we go out, otherwise it’s mayhem when we get back.

Yesterday, I posted a ‘Healthy Quorn Butter Chicken Recipe’ which was delicious. My daughter who tends to be a fussy eater, polished hers off and wanted more.
Luckily there was plenty left over, which we were able to finish off for dinner.
I asked the children whether they would like rice or Naan bread, Naan bread was the verdict.

I tend to follow the recipe from the ‘Fast & Easy Indian Cookbook’, but I use wholemeal flour and I roll each piece out very thin. I have a cast iron griddle which I cook them on, and the result is fantastic.

2015/01/img_1217.jpg

2015/01/img_1218.jpg

Ingredients

100 g milk or water

1 tsp sugar

450 g wholemeal flour

1 tsp salt

30 g oil

200 g Greek style plain yoghurt or 150 g plain yoghurt plus 1 large egg

1 tsp instant yeast or 10 g fresh yeast

Method

Place all the ingredients in the bowl and mix 20 secs/speed 3 to form a ball.

Knead for 3 minutes/dough setting. The dough should be smooth.

Lightly grease a large bowl and place the ball of dough inside.

Cover the bowl with cling film or put in a proving bag.

Leave the bowl in a warm place for 1-2 hrs or until it’s doubled in size.

Divide the dough into 6-10 pieces, depending on how big you would like them.

They can either be cooked in the oven, or on a cast iron griddle. If cooking in the oven, it must be on the highest heat setting.

Cook for 3 minutes until they puff up, then brown off under the grill.

Alternatively, I like to roll them really thin and place them on the pre-heated griddle.

After about a minute turn them over with some tongs and watch them so they don’t burn. They should puff up and cook very quickly.

Transfer them to a wire rack to cool, and serve.

Enjoy!!!! Xx

Leave a comment